Refined Data Knowledge Centre

ISO 45001

ISO 45001 is global standard for Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems (OHSMS),  published in March 2018 by the International Organization of Standards. The standard provides a framework for organizations to manage the risks to worker illnesses and injuries.

ISO 45001 builds on the old OHSAS 18001 standard, but there are also two fundamental differences. First, IS0 45001 is founded on a top-down commitment to safety, holding C-suite executives accountable for worker wellness. Second, the standard emphasizes a risk management approach, by requiring organizations to proactively identify sources or situations that have the potential to cause harm.

The key elements include:

  • Development of an Occupational Health and Safety Policy
  • Planning how the policy will be fully integrated with the business operations
  • Implementation and Operation the day to day of the policies
  • Checking the effectiveness of the policies and identifying opportunities for improvement
  • Management Review to ensure adherence to the policy at all levels in the organization

The principal of Continual Improvement is fundamental to the Environmental Management System. This can take the form of improved communications and employee awareness, increasingly stringent health and safety performance, and more effective emergency planning and response programs.

ISO 45001 is one of several ISO standards related to EHS and ESG management programs.

Table of Contents